Back to All Events

Arthur Ellis Awards: Shortlist Announcement Party

The Arthur Ellis Awards, established in 1984 and named after the nom de travail of Canada's official hangman, are awarded annually by the Crime Writers of Canada in the following categories:

Best Crime Novel
Best First Crime Novel
Best Crime Novella
Best Crime Short Story
Best French Crime Book
Best Juvenile or Young Adult Crime Book
Best Nonfiction Crime Book

Crime Writers of Canada (CWC) is a national non-profit organization for Canadian mystery and crime writers, associated professionals, and others with a serious interest in Canadian crime writing. Our mission is to promote Canadian crime writing and to raise the profile of Canadian crime writers with readers, reviewers, librarians, booksellers, and media. 

The CWC has sponsored Canada's Arthur Ellis Awards for Crime and Mystery Writing since 1984. 

Earlier Event: April 22
40th Anniversary Party!